La uruguaya

Ana García Blaya
International Competition
Duration: 78 min.
Country: Argentina,Uruguay
Language: Español
Year: 2022
Tuesday 8th, 09:00 hs., Teatro Auditorium (Sala Astor Piazzolla)
Tuesday 8th, 22:00 hs., Teatro Auditorium (Sala Astor Piazzolla)
Wednesday 9th, 17:20 hs., Cinema Los Gallegos (Sala Cinema 1)
Sunday 13rd, 13:00 hs., Cine Ambassador (Sala Ambassador 1)

Lucas Pereyra is a writer going through a mid-life crisis who seems to find relief for his everyday frustrations –his partner, his fatherhood, his economy– in a long-awaited getaway to Montevideo. His excuse is to avoid Argentina’s currency exchange restrictions, but the truth is he actually dreams of reuniting with a girl –quite younger than him– whom she met during a previous trip and with whom he has been maintaining a playful long-distance bond. But in between desire and reality, an abyss seems to open—perhaps Lucas will discover, the hard way, that neither women nor cities exist to satisfy male fantasies. An adaptation of Pedro Mairal’s successful novel, La uruguaya establishes a very astute dialogue with the original work—without betraying the source material, it challenges the point of view and proposes a female look on a conflict that tends to be tackled through the eyes of men.

Ana García Blaya

Ana García Blaya

Ana García Blaya was born in Buenos Aires, Argentina, in 1979. She is a screenwriter and director. Her first feature, The Good Intentions (2019, 34th Festival), screened at such festivals as Toronto and San Sebastian. In 2020, she was called to direct La uruguaya, based on Pedro Mairal’s book of the same name and financed by 1965

Data Sheet:

G: C. Basilis, J. Licitra, M. Stucchi, A. García Blaya, P. Mairal, S. Badia, A. Barmasch, J. Games, M. Krivocapich
F: Florencia Mamberti
E: Joaquín Elizalde
DA: Marlene Lievendag, Mariana Pereira
S: Martín García Blaya
M: Mocchi
P: J. Marqués Borchex, H. Casciari, C. Basilis, V. Pagani, G. Grosvald, M, Avellaneda, J. Beltramino
CP: Editorial Orsái, Nos, Atlántico Content, 1961 Productores
I: Sebastián Arzeno, Fiorella Bottaioli, Jazmín Stuart, Gustavo Garzón


Joaquín Marqués Borchex
IG @anitablaya